Everything You Need to Know About PBA Philippine Cup

The All-Filipino Cup of the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) is a renowned basketball event in the Philippines. Many fans may now put bets on their favorite teams and players thanks to the rise of online betting. It is crucial to highlight, however, that internet gambling should be done properly and within legal boundaries. The PBA has also put in place mechanisms to prevent match-fixing and assure league fairness.

PBA Philippine Cup Explained

In the Philippine Cup, which is run by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), teams are not allowed to hire foreign players or imports. Before the 2004–05 season was called the PBA All-Filipino Cup. It is considered the best of the three conferences in a PBA season. The current champions of the conference are the San Miguel Beermen.

Since the 2006–07 season, the winners have been given the Jun Bernardino Trophy. The trophy is made of a 24-karat gold plate worth PHP 500,000. The winner gets to keep it for a year. Then, they’ll get a smaller version of the trophy. If a team wins three tournaments in a row, the team gets to keep the actual award instead of a copy. The medal is named after Jun Bernardino, who was the PBA commissioner.


The TNT Tropang Texters (2010–11 to 2012–13) and the San Miguel Beermen (2014–15 to 2018–19) are the leading groups in the historical backdrop of the league to have won the All-Filipino Conference at least three times in a row. TNT and San Miguel could keep the Bernardino Trophy for good by getting this recognition. TNT keeps the one from 2006, and San Miguel keeps the one from 2013.


In 1975 and 1976, the tournament was reclassified as an import-heavy conference. And because the league allowed lower-ranked teams to hire players from outside the society to improve their teams. The first tournament where teams couldn’t bring in or hire foreign players was in 1977.

There was not an All-Filipino Conference in 1981 and 1982.

2022 PBA Philippine Cup Team

There are 12 Philippine Cup teams, and most of them are the same teams that play in each PBA conference (though their rosters may change from one meeting to the next):

Philippine Cup Team

  • Barangay Ginebra Kings
  • Blackwater Bossings
  • Magnolia Hotshots 
  • Meralco Bolts 
  • NLEX Road Warriors
  • NorthPort Batang Pier
  • Phoenix Fuel Masters
  • Rain or Shine Elasto Painters
  • San Miguel Beermen 
  • Talk N Text Tropang Texters 
  • Terrafirma DYIP
  • Converge FiberXers 

Best PBA Philippine Cup Players

Here is a list of the PBA Philippine Cup seasons. Who is the best player each season, and what team do they play for? 


PBA Philippine Cup Game Schedule & Update

The 47th time of the Philippine Basketball Affiliation is the 2022–23 PBA season, also called PBA Season 47. Starting with the Philippine Cup, the league will go back to having three conferences for the first time in two years.


After the PBA changed its schedule, the 47th season of the league was set to begin on June 5, 2022. And end on May 10, 2023. Also, the season will span two years for the first time since 2017. On May 15, 2022, the PBA Season 47 draft took place. It was the first event of the season.

Philippine Cup Frequently Asked Questions

Playoffs are decided after one round of games, and each club plays 11 matches. After that, the teams are ranked based on their overall record of wins and losses.

The Philippine Cup is an annual professional basketball competition hosted by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA), the country’s main basketball league. It is one of the PBA’s three conferences held each season.

The Philippine Cup is typically held from December to March, with the opening ceremonies and first games taking place in December and the championship finals in March.

The Philippine Cup typically features all 12 teams in the PBA.

The Philippine Cup is played in a double round-robin style, with each team playing each other team twice. After the elimination phase, the top eight teams proceed to the quarterfinals, which are a best-of-three format. The semifinals and finals are best-of-seven matches.

The San Miguel Beermen have won the Philippine Cup 27 times as of 2021, making them the most successful team in the competition. Alaska Aces, Barangay Ginebra San Miguel, and Purefoods Tender Juicy Giants are among the other successful teams (now Magnolia Hotshots).

Over the years, several successful players have participated in the Philippine Cup, including Alvin Patrimonio, Johnny Abarrientos, Danny Ildefonso, Jimmy Alapag, and June Mar Fajardo, who has won the Philippine Cup Best Player of the Conference title a record seven times.

The Philippine Cup is shown live on TV5 and online via the PBA’s official website and social media outlets. The games can also be viewed on the PBA’s official YouTube account.